Do you love me? (How Moshe Leib learned love)

The Hasidic Rabbi Moshe Leib once said: “I learned how to love mankind from a drunk peasant. He was sitting in a tavern drinking with his companions. He did not say anything for a very long time. But after a while his drink loosened his tongue and he asked his companion: ‘Tell me, do you love me?’

‘Yes, I love you very much,’ the man replied.

‘You love me, you say. But do you know what I need?’ asked the first.

‘How can I know what you need? I am not you!’ his friend protested.

‘If you really loved me, you would know.’ At this his friend had nothing to say, so they both returned to their drinking and silence.

However, I understood. To know a person’s true need and to carry the weight of his pain–that is the true love of mankind.”

What do you think? Do you agree with Moshe Leib? How does one demonstrate true love for humanity? How well do you show love?

About Darryl Willis

Darryl has been working for non-profits for over 36 years. His current work takes him to Ukraine several times a year. He has fallen in love with the country and the people. Darryl writes poetry and his work has appeared in several online and print journals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you love me? (How Moshe Leib learned love)

  1. Nancy says:

    After reading this story I felt another person understands my thoughts on humanity. I agree with Moshe Leib. In a way I feel it is about knowing when to lift someone up and not wondering what you will receive from it. It is about healing humanity. Everyone can be part of it.

    I think the best place to start developing our genuine loving kindness for humanity would be at the workplace, because a workplace is like a miniature world and a community at the same time.
    Just some thoughts of mine.

Leave a Reply

