A choice of conscience: this Christian’s choices…

To my Christian friends: I don’t know for whom you plan on voting. I am not going to tell you how to vote nor will I condemn you for your vote (or if you choose not to vote). You must live according to your conscience. (I don’t have a problem in telling people who I will not vote for, but that’s my decision to make, right?)

But here is one thing I ask that you consider: please do not make this about fear.

America will one day fall–as do ALL kingdoms and governments.

We can’t prevent that inevitability.

No candidate is the messiah and no candidate is really the anti-christ (I’m not a dispensationalist so I don’t go for those categories). I would add no Supreme Court justice nomination is the messiah or anti-christ either.

Yes, it is possible one candidate may cause more damage than another (relatively speaking). But as followers of Christ, should we put so much trust in political parties or candidates? Should we allow ourselves to listen to fear?

Let’s not put too much faith in candidates or parties and let’s not give too much credibility to fear. Let’s not attack those who disagree with our choices of candidates. (Doesn’t mean you can’t explain why you are for or against a particular candidate).

You are still my brother/sister whether you agree or disagree with me or disagree with my vote (or lack of it). Vote your conscience (or if you cannot vote according to your conscience, do not vote). That is sufficient and you should not be denounced, ridiculed, or chastised by a choice determined by your conscience.

Let’s not make this into some sort of litmus test. The last time I looked “love your neighbor” is still the summation of the “law and the prophets” (Romans 13:8-10). Voting Republican, Democrat, or Libertarian is not. I just looked it up…trust me; the command to love as central to God’s rule hasn’t changed during this election cycle.

About Darryl Willis

Darryl has been working for non-profits for over 36 years. His current work takes him to Ukraine several times a year. He has fallen in love with the country and the people. Darryl writes poetry and his work has appeared in several online and print journals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A choice of conscience: this Christian’s choices…

  1. Paul Smith says:

    As always, Darryl, excellent points. But you make it dreadfully difficult to label you as one of those left wing/right wing, conservative/liberal, commie/fascist, weirdos! 🙂

  2. Yeah…I’m just weird like that…

Leave a Reply

